The May 22 primary and nonpartisan elections are set, with qualifying for all races on the ballot this year ending Friday.

The big county-wide races up this year are for Douglas County District Attorney and Douglas County Solicitor General.

Douglas County District Attorney Brian Fortner was appointed last week to state court judge, leaving the seat open.

Dalia Racine, a Democrat who came within less than 500 votes of winning the seat four years ago, will face Chief Assistant District Attorney Ryan Leonard, who is running as a Republican. Since neither Racine nor Leonard drew primary opposition in their respective parties, the race for DA will be decided in the Nov. 6 general election.

In the solicitor's race, incumbent Republican Matthew Krull will face the winner of the Democratic primary from three candidates — Christina Peterson, Rudy Harris and Sonya Compton — in the November general election.

The incumbents in the nonpartisan races for the two Douglas County Superior Court Judgeships up this year — Chief Superior Court Judge David Emerson and Superior Court Judge Cynthia Adams — didn't draw any challengers and are the presumptive winners of new four-year terms.

Two local Republican incumbent candidates up for re-election — District 4 County Commissioner Ann Jones Guider and Chief Magistrate Judge Susan Camp — will also retain their seats after drawing no opposition during qualifying.

Two-term incumbent Henry Mitchell III, a Democrat, will face Republican candidate Nycole Miller in a race for the District 1 county commission seat in November.

The District 3 county commission seat has four candidates vying for the spot that will be vacated by incumbent Republican Mike Mulcare at the end of his term this year. Mulcare announced earlier this year he would not seek another term.

Two Democrats, Andre London and Tarenia Carthan, and two Republicans, Francisco Artley and Leonard Amundson, are vying for the seat. The winners of the May 22 primary from each party will face off in November.

In the race for school board, incumbent Michelle Simmons, a Democrat, who represents District 4, faces no opposition this year and is the presumptive winner of a second four-year stint on the board.

Incumbent Democrat D.T. Jackson, who serves District 2 on the school board, will face two fellow Democrats in the primary — Ebony Star Baker and Urshia R. Fouch. The Democratic primary winner will be the presumptive winner of the seat since no Republicans qualified.

Incumbent Democrat Tracy Rookard, who current holds the District 3 seat on the school board and serves as chairman, also drew two challengers from within her own party — Monique Rivarde and Larry Moore. No Republicans qualified for the seat, so the Democratic primary winner will be the presumptive winner of the seat.

Among Douglas County's eight-member state delegation, three incumbent legislators drew competition this year.

Incumbent Democrat District 35 Sen. Donzella James, D-Atlanta, who represents the eastern part of the county, faces two fellow Democrats vying for the seat, Karen Ashley and Michael Glanton Jr. No Republicans qualified for the seat, so the Democratic primary winner will be the presumptive winner of the seat.

Two members of the state House also drew opponents: Democrat William Boddie, D-East Point, will face off for a second run against fellow Democrat Valerie V. Vie in a Distrct 62 primary race that will decide the winner. And District 65 incumbent Democrat Sharon Beasley-Teague, D-Red Oak, will take on Mandisha Thomas in Democratic primary to decide the winner of that seat.

Incumbent state Sen Mike Dugan, R-Carrollton, who represents the western portion of Douglas, and state Reps. Roger Bruce, D-Atlanta, Kimberly Alexander, D-Douglasville, Micah Gravley, R-Douglasville, and J. Collins, R-Villa Rica, drew no opposition this year and will return to the state Capitol next year.

Incumbent Democrat David Scott, who serves the 13th District that includes Douglas County, will face the winner of the Republican primary in November; David Callahan and Ferrni Akinkugbe both qualified as Republicans for the congressional seat. Libertarian Martin Cowen is collecting petition signatures to get on the November ballot.

April 24 is the last date to register to vote for the general primary, nonpartisan general election and special election on May 22.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.