A series of promotions, relocations and new hires were approved Monday by the Douglas County Board of Education during its regular voting meeting.

Douglas County Schools Superintendent Trent North read from a list of personnel assignments from which some school administrators will move up to system-wide directorships. Additionally, some schools will see new administrators at the helm beginning July 1.

These changes include Minda Trexler, currently the assistant principal at Factory Shoals Elementary School, who has been appointed principal of Holly Springs Elementary School.

Trexler will replace Melanie Manley, who was appointed area executive director and will supervise the activities of the instructional staff in the school system's 20 elementary schools.

Tekmekia Gilchrist, assistant principal at New Manchester High School, was appointed principal of New Manchester High School. She will replace Marco Holland, who was appointed principal of Mt. Carmel Elementary School.

Karna Kelly, the assistant principal at Mt. Carmel Elementary School, was promoted to principal of North Douglas Elementary School. She will replace the current principal, Fran Davis.

Monica Henderson, special education program specialist with the Georgia Department of Education, was appointed Special Education Assistant Director. She will replace Carol Gee, who is retiring.

Bakahai Litman, an English teacher at Carrollton High School, was appointed graduation coordinator.

Robyn Scott, the principal at Stewart Middle School, will become principal of Mason Creek Middle School, replacing Eric Collins, who was appointed principal administrator of the new Student Success Academy.

Donita Cullen, who is serving as an assistant principal at Douglas County High School, was appointed as principal of Stewart Middle School.

Jessica Ainsworth, director of assessment, was appointed principal of Chapel Hill Elementary School. She will replace Robert Blevins, who is retiring at the end of the school year.

Maria Life, the current transportation coordinator, was promoted as the new transportation director, upon the retirement of Andy Micacchione in October after serving 27 years with the Douglas County School System. Life formerly was employed with the transportation department in the Cobb County School System.

Quincy McNair, who currently is employed as transportation manager in DeKalb County Schools, was appointed to replace Life as transportation assistant director.

Six Douglas County teachers have been appointed to the new positions of Elementary Content Specialists effective July 1. They include current Douglas County Teacher of the Year Lauren Cook and K’Asha Davis, English/Language Arts; Tammy Morris, Art; Samantha Shipp, Social Studies; Nicole Smith-Hall, Math and Tanish Springer, Science.

North established the new position to provide content and instructional support for teachers and to assure that the best resources are used to support the curriculum, according to DCSS spokesperson Portia Lake.

Cheryl Handley is the Douglas County School System’s new special education director. She formerly served as the supervisor of high school special education programs. She takes over for Barry Williams, who is moving over to work in an executive position on the instructional/curriculum side of the Douglas County School System.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.