The 2014 Cross Country season has closed for local Douglas County squads and comparable to years past, this one too was filled with several memorable performances by individuals and teams alike.

Leading the way yet again among performances by local teams, the Alexander Cougars are once again named the Douglas County Sentinel’s boys Team of the Year after their strong showing in both region and state competition in 2014. Competing against all 10 teams in the Region 5-AAAAA Cross Country Championships, the Cougars walked away with a dominating first place finish (43 points) to punch their ticket to state. After advancing to the 2014 State Meet in Carrollton, the Cougars once again topped off their season as the county’s top performer by bringing home a fourth place overall finish. Because of their strong performances in those two meets, Alexander head coach Brian Robinson was named boys Coach of the Year.

“We had a good year and really exceeded expectations, especially at state”, said Robinson. “We were ranked eighth or ninth all season and ended up having a great state meet. This season is a credit to the team and it’s because of their hard work.”

For the girls, it was the Chapel Hill Lady Panthers that had the best run among local teams at the region meet by placing one spot ahead of Alexander. The Lady Panthers came out with a fifth place overall finish and just barely missed out on a bid to compete at the state meet. Although they did not get their shot at a state run, they still earn their spot as the DCS Girls’ Team of the Year. With a notable season and finishes for the Lady Panthers, Chapel Hill head coach Kelly Williams is the girls Coach of the Year recipient.

This season two county runners had outstanding seasons for the boys side and earned Co-Runner of the Year honors. For the Alexander Cougars, Lance Smith kicked off his season with a fifth place finish with a time of 16:24.79 at the Early Bird Classic in August. At the region meet, Smith finished sixth with a time of 16:21.95, and at state he was 35th with a time of 17:37.12.

“Lance (Smith) is a hard worker and our most consistent runner”, said Robinson. “He goes out and just runs hard. He never runs a bad race and puts in a lot of miles for us.”

Representing Chapel Hill, Cameron Lord also earned the nod as Co-Runner of the Year after his consistency on the course for the Panthers. As the 2013 DCS Runner of the Year, Lord led the Panther team again this season at the region meet with a third place time of 16:14.34. His finish helped send the Panthers on to a third place finish at region, qualifying them for state. At the state meet, Lord finished 74th overall with a time of 18:09.37.

For the girls, the Runner of the Year nod goes to Sabria Wooten of New Manchester High School. At the region meet, Wooten led all female county runners individually and just missed the cut with a seventh place finish (21.16.22) to represent the Lady Jags at state. She also finished in first place with a time of 21:05.66 at the Douglas County Cross Country Championship in October.

Several other runners from all across the county also had outstanding seasons as well. Provided is a full list and breakdown of the 2014 DCS All-County Cross Country honors.

Team of the Year (Boys):


Team of the Year (Girls):

Chapel Hill

Coach of the Year (Boys):

Brian Robinson (AHS)

Coach of the Year (Girls):

Kelly Williams (CHHS)

Runner’s of the Year: (Boys)

Lance Smith- AHS

Cameron Lord- CHHS

Runner of the Year: (Girls)

Sabria Wooten- NMHS

First Team (Boys):

Lance Smith- AHS

Cameron Lord- CHHS

Jacob Giammarco- AHS:

Tyler Whorton- AHS:

Wilson Moore- CHHS:

First Team (Girls):

Sabria Wooten- NMHS

Anna Scasny- AHS:

Samantha Anderson- CHHS:

Enyotti Edwards- CHHS:

Sakinah Omari- CHHS

Second Team (Boys):

Kamil Jones- AHS

Braeden Collins- AHS

Austin Muse- AHS

Caleb Searles- CHHS

Justin Hendee- CHHS

Second Team (Girls):

Caroline Watkins- AHS

Carleigh Camp- AHS

Eva Salazar- AHS:

Jenna Adams- DCHS

Rachel Norris (CHHS)

Honorable Mentions (Boys):

Jacob Asberry (DCHS), Evan Doty (DCHS), Jordan Crawford (DCHS), Jordan White (DCHS), James Hood (DCHS), Michael Daniels (CHHS), Jackson Rigdon (CHHS), Nic Culkin-Taylor (CHHS), Kaleb Peppers (LSHS), Joshua Leverette (LSHS), Jordan Prather (LSHS), Kedar Beacham (NMHS), Sam Bone (NMHS)

Honorable Mentions (Girls):

Meredith Townsend, Olivia Dingle (DCHS), Mikaela Talbot (AHS)

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.